Everything You Need to Know About Facebook’s New Page Design

Facebook Organic Reach

27 May Everything You Need to Know About Facebook’s New Page Design

We’ve been hearing the rumors about Facebook’s new Pages design for several months now (and we’ve seen a few Pages that were switched over many weeks ago). As of Friday, May 23, 2014, Facebook has started prompting businesses to make the switch because they plan on changing all Pages over on June 13.

According to Facebook, the new streamlined look for Pages is meant to make it easier for people to find the tools they use most. The most significant changes include a new single column News Feed so status updates all appear in one line, a large callout to the business’s “About” section on the left-hand column, easier access to key admin roles and a “Pages to Watch” feature which allows admins to create a list of Pages similar to their own and compare performances.

Currently, Facebook is allowing businesses to update their Page but they don’t have to make the new layout visible to their fans quite yet. We recommend taking a look at our updated Facebook Image Guide Template which can be downloaded into Photoshop. It is 100 percent customizable and will help you prepare your Page for the new design! Again, according to Facebook, all Pages will be public with the new design on June 5.

We’re excited about the new look and changes to Pages. To help give you a better idea of the features and benefits of the new design, below is a screenshot of the design as a whole. Below that we break down the individual features.

**NOTE: All apps are now visible to the public. In the previous layout, Facebook would only display the top 12 apps installed to a Page. With the new layout, Facebook is displaying all apps installed. This means if you have “secret” apps installed — e.g., customer appreciation apps that you don’t want all Facebook Page visitors to have access to — or practice apps, you’ll want to uninstall them. If you’re a ShortStack user, you can also set widgets to “admin only” so only you/Page admins can see them. When you’re ready to make them visible, reset them. 



Get Started Today